An Oasis of Thoughts

Ano Natsu de Matteru – 04

1 Comment

Short Summary: Kaito and Ichika find ways to approach each other after what happened at the train station, while they meet Tetsurou’s sister Manami. They eventually go back to their regular selves. After the final exams, the beginning of “that summer” starts.


Thoughts: I lol’d when i saw Highschool of the Dead in the episode, both series have the same character designer and Ano Natsu creator Kuroda Yousuke wrote and supervised the scripts for H.O.T.D. But i really enjoyed this episode, it had enough comedy and there’s definitely hints of a much darker tone to be made during “that summer”. I really liked how the episode really established it’s moving away from a rom-com to something a little more darker. Normally i’m not invested with some anime directors, but i am really impressed with director Tatsuyuki Nagai: Toradora was great, minus the second half and AnoHana was just stellar. The pacing for each was really well-laid out, but AnoHana did a better job with 11 episodes than most noitaminA series. But Ano Natsu has been really establishing character development that easily beats Ano Hana’s. I’ve had my doubts about this one, but i’m extremely confident with how this series will turn out to be.

Score: 4/5

One thought on “Ano Natsu de Matteru – 04

  1. “I’ve had my doubts about this one, but i’m extremely confident with how this series will turn out to be.”

    I think I am the opposite of you. I had high hopes at the beginning of the series, but now I am unsure of how it will turn out. The only character I truly like is Remon(sp?). The blue haired chick is your typical tsundere that has been done to death. The lead is your common everyday anime lead who is a huge puss. I guess the main female lead is likeable, but I just don’t know.

    One thing I never get about anime is how these characters always end up living together, with no parents infact, yet never get serious. They obviously like each other, yet won’t even do anything about it even with no parental units.

    It is a cute show though, just not as great as I originally hoped.

Leave a Reply

