An Oasis of Thoughts

The Anime Blogger Interrogation Game

3 Comments

You know if there’s one thing I like about blogging, it’s these little events that sort of introduce each other in the blogging community. That being said…

The rules as stated by Iso of Nabe!!:
  • Each person is supposed to follow the rule of fives.You are allowed to ask 5 questions, after which you can tag up to 5 bloggers by hyper-linking to their blog; 5 questions because it’s not too many to flood another blogger and occupy too much of his/her time, but yet a large enough number to ask your most important questions, and 5 bloggers to avoid spamming. Hence, prioritize your questions, and who you wish to ask!
  • Those tagged are obliged to answer the questions in a blog post, and after which, they are entitled to create their own 5 questions and tag 5 other bloggers, so on and so fourth. You should answer your own 5 questions as well. You are allowed to tag the person that tagged you in the first place. Also, copy and paste this section on your blog so others can understand how the game goes.
  • In the case where a blogger strongly refuses to answer a question, he/she must instead post a nice anime image, wallpaper or cosplay picture, et cetera in response to that question.
  • To make things interesting, a blogger can include wildcards in his/her 5 questions by placing an asterisk, (*), after which those tagged are obliged to reveal something interesting about themselves that others did not previously know. There is no limit to the number of asterisks one can place (which means there can be up to 5 wildcard questions).
  • Anyone can feel free to start the game; you don’t necessarily need someone to tag you. Just create your 5 questions and tag your 5 people of choice. However, the catch is that you must answer your own 5 questions as well.
  • To potentially prevent an endless game, this round of games will end on the 8th September 2012, 12pm JST (GMT +9). After which, no more bloggers can tag others to answer their questions.

Here’s my answers to the questions asked by -blacksheep:

  1. What anime/manga has made an impact to your life?/3. Who is the anime character that resembles you the most in terms of personality?

For me, that would easily have to be Natsume Yuujinchou mainly due to the fact that I really understood what Natsume went through: neglect, distrust and the feeling that no one understands you. I get that, and seeing him grow into a much more stronger and confident person inspires me to do the same as well.

2. Setting aside the story/plot/synopsis, what’s the next thing you consider in choosing an anime to watch?

Definitely who’s voicing who (seiyuu). I’m a big seiyuu fan, so when I see some names I’m familiar with I usually watch it no matter how bad it seems (heck I gave Dakara, Boku wa H a chance because I’m a fan of the lead character’s seiyuu).

4. Do you buy anime merchandise (figures, BDs, OSTs, etc)?

Sadly no, but with me getting WAY more financial aid money than I need…I’ll be putting that remaining money to good use *ahem*. I may even import a series (and if I do, I’ll post pics)

5. What anime/manga made you an anime/manga enthusiast (not necessarily have to be your first anime)?

Code Geass, without a doubt. I started watching anime long before Geass aired, but this was the show that really pushed me into watching anime on a seasonal basis, for over six years now. This show is FABULOUSLY amazing, and honestly I love it despite the awfulness of season 2.

 

The five I’ve tagged are: DonDonKun, marthaurion, -blacksheep, zzeroparticle and feal87. Here are your questions, and per the rules my responses to them:

1. What is your favorite anime soundtrack?

Without a doubt, Gundam Seed’s OST is just pure awesome. There are only a few tracks that are quite and calm, otherwise the rest is just LOUD and reminiscent of a celebration or a festival. It really makes me pumped up whenever I listen to the soundtrack.

2. What anime would you give a second chance to?

Probably Eureka Seven because I really love the animation (still looks better than Persona 4), the music is fantastic and the themes are really well imaginative. What kept me from liking this show was the romance aspect between Renton and Eureka: I just can’t stand Renton, even if his attitude and personality is in line with a mecha protagonist, even though he saw the grim reality of war…I just couldn’t bring myself to like him and not liking the main character usually spells doom for that series in terms of enjoyment.

3. What are some of your favorite blogs and why?

Anime Instrumentality: Covering music-related topics, pretty rare in the blogosphere.
Empty Blue: The right kind of episodic posts, they’re interesting, creative titles and well written.
Moe Alternative: Because they’re covering Saimoe Because the layout is simple and the authors just get right to what they’re talking about.
Star Crossed Anime: Again, really nice and simple and psgels’ thoughts are always interesting, though I only agree with him about 50% of the time.
Blacksheep Project – *notbias* I want that layout so bad…ahem because I really like how well structured the posts are and the comment system is really effective.
We Remember Love – The only one really talking about Gundam AGE (so under-appreciated), and definitely lots of critical analysis that is hard to find nowadays.

*Though I’m not really a commenter, I do read many blogs. 🙂

4. Would you watch an anime series even if you have a personal objection (religious/political/etc) to some of the themes/content?

It depends: Mirai Nikki featured a LOT of uncomfortable depictions of rape, but then again this show is pretty twisted as is. Honestly, anime isn’t reality: what it may depict could be, but it will never leave that screen so I don’t mind it as long as the themes/content are used for a really good reason.

5. What is your favorite english dub and why?

For me, I easily choose Baccano! due to the fact that the show mainly takes place in New York City during the Great Depression and the cast reflects that (i.e. english names, accents, etc.). The dub even made some characters better than the Japanese seiyuu, and the seiyuu in Baccano! include a ton of A-listers including the fabulous Norio Wakamoto and still I highly recommend everyone to not only watch Baccano (because it’s amazing), but watch it dubbed to truly enjoy it the way it should be watched.

3 thoughts on “The Anime Blogger Interrogation Game

  1. I pretty much expected your answer at #3 since I think I’ve read that from your answer on AceRailgun’s questions waaaay back then 😀 and we have the same answer for #2!! haha. I also get to watch a number of series that aren’t really good because of the seiyuu.

    and seeing my Kimi to Boku-layout blog in your faves surprised me 😀

  2. Thanks for the tag WebKid94, I’ll answer your questions in this comment box like I’ve done with all the other tags I received. 🙂

    1. What is your favorite anime soundtrack?

    Guilty Crown OST, I really love that soundtrack. (while the anime was well…you know…)

    2. What anime would you give a second chance to?

    Maybe Ika Musume, I ended up dropping the second season as it was growing boring on the long run! 😛

    3. What are some of your favorite blogs and why?

    Kurogane’s anime blog (http://kurogane.animeblogger.net/) because he’s short, down to the point and funny too.
    Hau~ Omochikaeri~! (http://omochikaeri.wordpress.com/) because Micchi is everyone’s oniichan! (and well, his monthly visual novel preview are a great and fast way to get insights on what’s being released)

    I follow MANY more blogs in my reader, and these are just a quick sample…:)

    4. Would you watch an anime series even if you have a personal objection (religious/political/etc) to some of the themes/content?

    I don’t care much about it and if I managed to survive through watching Guilty Crown (I hated Shuu from the bottom of my heart), I think I’m ready for anything! 😀

    5. What is your favorite english dub and why?

    I don’t listen to english dubs, I don’t like their voices really.

  3. Thanks for the tag! Just give me a few days to cobble my thoughts together since the first question is already very much a challenging one.

Leave a Reply

