An Oasis of Thoughts

Chihayafuru 2 – 02

Leave a comment

Chihayafuru 2 - 02 (3)

I just finished re-watching the entire first season as well as the first two episodes of the second season. And all I have to say is that the transition was really smooth. It really does feel as if Chihayafuru never had a break(:

ANYWAY what we had in this episode is the continuous introduction on Karuta-bu’s new members.

Sumire’s stalking on Taichi ended up seeing him play karuta which made her wonder why someone like Taichi is playing it. What I actually liked in here is when Sumire asked Harada-sensei what’s so fun about Karuta :3

Sometimes I ask the same question myself. I mean what’s so fun about taking those boring looking cards. Add to that the idea that you have to memorize all of them, their unique syllables as well as their positions when playing. Memorization is one of the things I hate the most -_- AND damn, Harada-sensei’s answer didn’t really helped much but it was a pretty interesting answer, I’d say(:

Chihayafuru 2 - 02 (1)

Isn’t Hundred Poets just a bunch of love poems? Humans have always spend a lot of time on love. I’m not too interested in karuta, but I’m willing to work hard for love. – Hanano Sumrie

Well that was interesting. I really like the development of Sumire – how she started off as someone looking for a boyfriend to noticing of the Hundred Poets seem to apply to her situation to her current self that seriously wants to play karuta because of love(: I’m excited to see her play karuta seriously. I’m pretty sure that by next episode, Sumire’ll be ready to go for a serious game of competitive karuta.

Chihayafuru 2 - 02 (4) Chihayafuru 2 - 02 (2)

As for the other new member, Tsukuba Akihiro (Irino Miyu) has caught my interest because of his knowledge about the 2nd verse karuta. I don’t really understand why 2nd verse karuta has different rules from competitive karuta but it’s not really my business. This just entirely mean that despite how much experience Tsukuba has with 2nd verse karuta, he’s still a noob in competitive karuta.

Now I’m pretty interested to see who’ll be the better player between the two new members(:

Author: czai

previously went by the name '-blacksheep'. owner of the AniBlog 'the Blacksheep Project'. just your regular lazy aniblogger out there. nothing special here.

Leave a Reply

