An Oasis of Thoughts

Spring 2013 “Preview”

1 Comment

Once again, Thursdays love to ruin my life.

Spring is definitely a step up from the lackluster Winter season, but whether or not it will be a good season is yet to be seen. Just a little note to any anime producers out there: any reason you can’t air a show on a Monday? Or a Tuesday? Does it always have to be Thursdays??? Really, this is the same schtick every season where all the good shows tend to be lumped in one day. Oh well, I guess it separates the good from the hideous. I’ll just do a quick rundown of what I may and may not watch, and exclude everything else so apologies if I left something out.

Suisei no Galgantia

  • Episodes: 12
  • Studio: Production I.G. (Guilty Crown, Psycho-Pass, Eden of the East)
  • Director: Kazuya Murata (Fullmetal Alchemist: The Sacred Star of Milos)

A trend I’m noticing is that there are more original animes being produced, though the success rate for these shows is largely a coin toss if past series are anything to go by. Here comes Suisei no Galgantia, an original series that has the fingerprints of one of anime’s most notable names: Gen Urobuchi. Just last season, Urobuchi came out with Psycho-Pass, one of my favorite series during it’s run who consistently raised strong and complex questions. Urobuchi’s style of storytelling tends to be: Here’s the problem, but you guys figure out how to solve it. That sort of storytelling is definitely not going to be accepted by the majority of anime watchers but for me I absolutely enjoy those kinds of stories. If Galgantia poses serious questions about the uncertainty of the job market, which Urobuchi stated that the show would be largely about, then I sense another thought provoking series. Of course, his biggest weakness as a writer is his characters tend to be really underdeveloped and/or too perfect. With only 12 episodes, Galgantia has a lot to prove and very little time to prove it. I hope for it to succeed.

Mondays-Wednesdays are barren, thankfully that means focus on school time.

Hataraku Maou-sama!

  • Episodes: 12
  • Studio: White Fox (Steins;Gate, Jormungand, Katanagatari)
  • Director: Naoto Hosoda (Mirai Nikki, Minami-ke seasons 2 and 3)

This show looks like a lot of fun, at first glance. Satan is a teenage kid who works at McDonalds? Fuck yeah! Then I hear “Yuusha (Hero) Emilia” and suddenly my mind goes back to Dog Days, a show who’s cheeriness and kindness towards others made me want to puke buckets of rainbows. Nothing’s wrong with being friendly to each other, but Dog Days’ way of being friendly felt so damn fake like the plastics from Mean Girls. Ahem. Anyways, I do like what I’ve seen so far but the director gives me a bit of pause: nothing about Maou-sama screams Mirai Nikki, and I was told to skip seasons 2 and 3 of Minami-ke, because apparently it was just that bad.

Ginga Kikoukai Majestic Prince

  • Episodes: 24
  • Studio: Dogakobo (Natsuyuki Rendevous, 11eyes)
  • Director: Keitarou Motonaga (Jormungand, Katanagatari, School Days)

My heart couldn’t take the news that Gundam Seed DESTINY would get an HD remastered version. Obviously if Seed did, then DESTINY would be obviously getting one as well. Then comes Valvrave the Liberator with it’s Seed-like synopsis and now Majestic Prince actually goes there…yes the character designs are by Hisashi Hirai: just take the protagonists of DESTINY, Heroic Age and Fafner and you get three Shinn Asuka’s! To be honest, I actually like the mecha designs though the red one looks just like Valvrave, and both look like obvious Nirvash clones. As much as I rant about DESTINY (yes i like to put it in all caps), it was one of the first Gundam series I’ve seen and thus I’m willing to be more impartial to it and shows that remind me of it, like Majestic Prince. But at 24 episodes, I’m not sure if I’ll stick around.

Yahari, Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru.

  • Episodes: 12 (?)
  • Studio: Brain’s Base (Natsume Yuujinchou, Durarara!!, Kure-nai)
  • Director: Ai Yoshimura (episode director of Nichibros)

Usually if a show starts with “Ore”, it’s a LN series but this time there’s actually a new word in front of it to throw me off slightly! Lame attempt at snark aside, someone told me that it’s like Haganai but more absurd and a better protagonist. I loved season 1 of Haganai (and dropped season 2 for boredom), and I actually really liked Kodaka so there’s some silver lining with this series. Plus, it’s Brain’s Base who I worship as the gods of anime for their ratio of good/bad series is around 4:1. Nothing about the previews seems interesting, but nothing seems outright offensive either. Harmless? I’ll be the judge on that.

Valvrave the Liberator

  • Episodes: 26 (?)
  • Studio: Sunrise (Gundam, Nichibros, Gintama)
  • Director: Kou Matsuo (Natsuyuki Rendevous, Kure-nai)

I will not mince words: Valvrave is the show I’m totally hyped about. To some, the fact that it’s synopsis screams Gundam SEED is a turn off, but for me it’s quite the opposite. I loved SEED, it was my first Gundam series, despite the horrible animation and high levels of angst. I see a lot of potential with Valvrave: it’s two-cour, it’s got great animation, awesome music (Nana Mizuki AND T.M. Revolution singing the OP? Take my credit card now!).. though those also apply to Guilty Crown (the former) and SEED Destiny (the latter). Regardless, as a mecha fan there are some great choices this season and Valvrave is definitely the one getting the most attention. Can it live up to everyone’s expectations or do we have the next SEED Destiny on our hands? I would say Guilty Crown, but the plot is eerily similar to SEED’s.

Devil Survivor 2 the Animation

  • Episodes: 13
  • Studio: Bridge (Mitsudomoe)
  • Director: Seiji Kishi (Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita, Persona 4 the Animation, Angel Beats!)

Having no idea what this show was about, and checking out the official website I thought to myself: This looks like Persona 3 mixed with Durarara!!. Sometimes I can be eerily on the mark, as Devil Survivor 2 is part of the Shin Megami Tensei series though separate from the Persona series, also by Atlus and the illustrator for the game for which this show is based on is Suzuhito Yasuda, who illustrates the Durarara!! novels. With all of that said, I am both really excited for this series as a Persona fan (though I’ve never played either Devil Survivor games), and extremely nervous because of the director, Seiji Kishi. He directed the Persona 4 anime, which I felt was rushed and it honestly had some really derpy animation. Though the previews for DeSu 2 look extremely well animated, does being only 13 episodes lead to even more rushing in exchange for better animation? I hope not, and I do hope Kishi can make it work but well, anything can happen.

 

Aku no Hana

  • Episodes: ?
  • Studio: Zexcs (Suki-tte Iinayo)
  • Director: Hiroshi Nagahama (Mushi-shi, Detroit Metal City)

If I’m excited for Valvrave, I am jumping up and down and on the walls for Aku no Hana. Why? Because for the first time in my 10+ years of watching anime, I can finally call myself a manga reader and I can finally see firsthand if the manga I love will get a great adaptation or go the way of the Magi. Honestly, that PV just set the mood so damn well so I hope that’s a great sign of things to come. What worries me is the animation: it will use rotoscoping, which basically means take any Grand Theft Auto’s cover art and you pretty much are looking at rotoscope animation. I do love when series break away from the norm, but will this be pushing it? Honestly, Aku no Hana’s strength is the eery and unnerving atmosphere it sets so well in the manga along with it’s characters, that even if the rotoscoping turns out horrible, the main message is set.

 

Oreimo Season 2

  • Episodes: 13 (+3 OVAs)
  • Studio: A-1 Pictures (The iDOLM@STER, AnoHana, Magi)
  • Director: Hiroyuki Kanbe (Oreimo.)

In a rare moment of fanboyism: FUCK YOU KIRINO, KURONEKO ALL THE WAY. Ahem, and now back to your regularly scheduled content.

It was obvious to anyone that OreImo would get a season 2, but now that the series is ending and Aniplex says this season will cover everything, just how much can they cover in only 13 episodes? From what I’ve heard, lines will be drawn and some impressions on characters will be switched completely. Back then, this was a guilty pleasure series of mine and even now I still can’t believe I actually watch and enjoy this show. My tastes in series can be very schizophrenic at times. Anyways, we now have A-1 Pictures animating but everything looks the same so hopefully their recent track record (coughmagicough) doesn’t crawl its way to Oreimo, though some people have stated that 24 episodes would be enough to finish the show and now we have confirmation that only 13 episodes are scheduled plus 3 OVA’s. Let the fanboying commence!

Attack on Titan (Shingeki no Kyojin)

  • Episodes: ?
  • Studio: Wit Studio/Production I.G.
  • Director: Tetsurou Araki (Guilty Crown, Death Note)

Look, I know I keep mentioning Guilty Crown but somehow I find it to be amusing that we have the director, music composer and studio that brought us GC, and also Ouma Shuu’s voice actor playing the lead character here. To my relief, I sense no danger of trainwreck in the previews for Titan, but I sense a lot of intense action, gore and really good background music. We always have “that one show” that is the most hyped for its season, and that would easily apply to Titan and it’s pretty understandable why. I definitely will stick with this series, just because the previews have impressed me too much not to give it a watch.
Well, that’s all I’m interested in. What about you guys?

 

One thought on “Spring 2013 “Preview”

  1. looks like we’re watching the same series for Spring although I’ll be checking out more series because… I just want to try them 😛 but you definitely have there the series I’m looking forward to the most minus Karneval and Arata Kangatari…
    ~glad I wasn’t the only one who noticed that both Majestic Prince and Valvrave seem like SEED :))
    ~Aku no Hana seem like one of the most interesting series this season given its plot. I’ve never read the manga although I’ve read somewhere that it’s good. well I’ll be looking forward that you’ll blog it :3

Leave a Reply

